Forums > Kitesurfing General

East coast kiting trip - Where to go?

Created by Travs87 > 9 months ago, 30 May 2016
Travs87
NSW, 2 posts
30 May 2016 1:38PM
Thumbs Up

Hi All,

Looks like I've hit the jackpot and will have about a month to play with while I wait for my next working visa to come through - not one to waste an opportunity so am planning a road/kiting trip up the East Coast from Sydney.

So... friendly seabreeze community I need some recommendations! I'm fairly new to the sport so flat(er) water is preferred, but I'll take any pointers. Distance is not a issue, I know there are some good spots around Port Douglas so will end up there; but where to go in between? (Preferably locations where there is at least a strong possibility I won't get eaten by a crocodile - I've seen the news this morning and it's not good.)

Also if anyone is free between Jul 3rd and beginning-ish of August and fancies joining a pomme (sorry, it's not my fault) for a session or two I'd welcome you with open arms/a cold beer!

Cheers,

Ben

kemp90
QLD, 1692 posts
30 May 2016 3:50PM
Thumbs Up

man jump on google earth and look at the coast. i was looking this morning and found a dozen sick spots north and south of Sydney.

iandvnt
QLD, 581 posts
30 May 2016 6:29PM
Thumbs Up

drive north for 27.5 hours to find gold

BurkeyBoy
QLD, 549 posts
31 May 2016 12:04PM
Thumbs Up

Hi Ben,

The further north you go this time of year the better, and I mean way north. Not sure about down Sydney way, but in SE QLD the wind is pretty non existent this time of year. Far North QLD is the go, a few local here head up there in winter for some reliable solid days.

DJ1986
WA, 14 posts
31 May 2016 4:38PM
Thumbs Up

Anything north of Mackay is windy. Anyting south and you'll be sitting on the beach.